Girl in Stitches

Being the occasional and rambling account of one young lady's adventures with fabric and a soldering iron

Paper bodice

 

 

 

Queen of the Seas

Hello mummy.

I had this idea for a dress and grabbed the first useable thing to start the bodice, which happened to be mulberry paper (that I once started sewing a landscape on and then eventually discarded). Paper patches were cut and pinned and stitched together – it’s rough, but surprisingly strong.

DSC08794

It has loads of random bits and pieces sewn to the back. Mostly synthetic fabric – perfect, I’m thinking, for a bit of hot fusing.

DSC08798

The idea is a sort of fairytale sea dress, like some ocean spirit would wear. Or something. I have a really clear idea in my head, and the chances of it sticking to that are admittedly fairly slim, but I’m already having fun with this one and I’m looking forward to changing my mind as I go along.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2015 by in clothes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
